A Singapore Government Agency Website

Fatwa Committee

The Fatwa Committee assists the Mufti in process of fatwa deliberation and ensures that fatwas are deliberated comprehensively. The Committee is made up of Mufti as the Chairman, two qualified members appointed from among members of the Muis Council, two independent ulama who are not from among the members of Muis Council, as well as members recommended by the Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs and Muis Council.

All members of the Committee are appointed by the President of the Republic of Singapore. Members will serve a three-year term from 2019 to 2022.


Mufti Dr Nazirudin Mohd Nasir (Chairman)

Ustaz Ali Bin Hj Mohamed

Ustaz Mohamad Hasbi Bin Hassan

Ustaz Fathurrahman Bin Hj M Dawoed

Ustazah Dr Rohana Binte Ithnin


Deputy Mufti Ustaz Mohd Murat Bin Md Aris (Secretary)

Deputy Mufti Ustaz Dr Mohammad Hannan Bin Hassan

Ustaz Dr Badrul Fata Bin Muhd Ridwan

Ustaz Dr Firdaus Yahya

Ustaz Dr Mohamed Bin Ali

Ustaz Dr Mohammad Rizhan Bin Leman

Ustazah Dr Sakinah Binte Saptu

Ustaz Dr Shaik Ahmad Bin Syed Buhari

Ustaz Ahmad Haris Bin Suhaimi

Ustaz Irwan Hadi Bin Mohd Shuhaimy

Ustaz Kamaruzaman Bin Afandi

Ustaz Mahmoud Mathlub Bin Sidek

Ustaz Mohammad Yusri Yubhi Bin Mohd Yusoff

Ustaz Mohd Kamal Bin Mokhtar

Ustaz Muhammad Ma'az Bin Sallim

Ustaz Muhammad Saiful 'Adli Bin Ayob

Ustaz Muhammad Tarmizi Bin Abdul Wahid

Ustazah Nadia Hanim Binte Abdul Rahman

Ustazah Siti Nur 'Alaniah Binte Abdul Wahid