A Singapore Government Agency Website

About

Singapore Halal Certification

Majlis Ugama Islam Singapura (Muis), also known as the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore, is the Islamic authority in-charge of Muslim affairs in Singapore. Muis advises the President of Singapore on all matters relating to Islam in Singapore. Among other things, Muis provides Halal Certification services and regulates Singapore Halal industry. 

Under the Administration of Muslim Law Act (AMLA), Muis is vested with the sole legal powers to issue Halal certificates in Singapore. 

Section 88A(1), AMLA: The Majlis may issue Halal certificates in relation to any product, service, or activity and regulate the holders of such certificates to ensure that the requirements of Muslim law are complied with in the production, processing, marketing or display of that product, the provision of that service or the carrying out of that activity

Section 88A(5), AMLA: “Any person who, without the approval of the Majlis:
• issues a Halal certificate in relation to any product, service or activity; or
• uses any specified Halal certification mark or any colourable imitation thereof, shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $10,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or both

Established in 1978, Muis Halal Certification is voluntary. The move to set up its Halal Certification Strategic Unit was driven by the increasing demand for Singapore products being Halal-certified and for eating establishments.

In 2016, Muis certified more than 4,000 premises and has played an important role as the custodian of Halal food assurance for Singapore's 15% Muslim population. Furthermore, the burgeoning Halal food industry with the availability of many Halal-certified eating establishments has helped foster social interaction between individuals from diverse racial, cultural and religious backgrounds.


A flow chart summarizing Muis Halal Certification Process is shown below:

Singapore Halal Certification Process

 

1. Enquiries

Application procedures Halal Requirements

2. e-Application

 

Submission of new Halal Application via LicenceOne

3. Processing

 

Verification of documents, Audits / Inspections

4. Certification

 

Issuance of Halal Certificate (Valid 1 or 2 years)

5. Post Certification

 

Unannounced inspections, Update of information via LicenceOne

6. Renewal

 

Submission 3 months before expiry date

 

COMPLAINTS & STATUTORY APPEALS

To view the procedure for complaints against service delivery of Muis Halal Certification's (MHC) officers, click here.

To view the procedure for complaints against impartiality, independence and confidentiality of Muis Halal Certification's (MHC) officers, click here.

To view the procedure for statutory appeals, click here.

CONTACT INFO

Address 23 Mayo St (208323) [Note: Our office will be closed until further notice]
Contacting Hours
Mondays to Thursdays
9:00 am to 1:00 pm
2:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Fridays:
9:00 am to 12:30 pm
2:30 pm to 5:00 pm
Mainline 6011 0037
Email For general enquiries: info@muis.gov.sg.
For LicenceOne/GoBusiness matters: mes_3.0@muis.gov.sg
For feedback (including complaints): qsm@muis.gov.sg

Alternatively, you can contact the officers directly at the following contact number/email: 

Name Extension Number Email Address
Nurul Hidayah Abubakar 2000 Nurul_Hidayah_ABUBAKAR@muis.gov.sg
Halal Assurance (Audit)
NurAini Hamid  2002 Nur_Aini_HAMID@muis.gov.sg
Siti NurAtiqah Abu Bakar 2003  Nur_Atiqah_ABU_BAKAR@muis.gov.sg
Haziqah Haron 2012 Haziqah_HARON@muis.gov.sg
Nur Hanis Faisal 2008 Nur_Hanis_FAISAL@muis.gov.sg
Farhanah Yunos 2005 Farhanah_YUNOS@muis.gov.sg
Nur Khairina Khair 2009 Nur_Khairina_MOHAMED_KHAIR@muis.gov.sg
Siti Nurzakiah Hashim 2007 Siti_Nurzakiah_HASHIM@muis.gov.sg
Muhd Nasrul Ibrahim 2004 Muhd_Nasrul_IBRAHIM@muis.gov.sg
Nur Arinah Shapandi 2006 Nur_Arinah_SHAPANDI@muis.gov.sg
Nurenilda Mokhtar 2010 Nurenilda_Faraedayu_MOKHTAR@muis.gov.sg
Musliha  Muhamad 2010 Musliha_MUHAMAD@muis.gov.sg
Shariffah Gamar Syed Abdul Rahman 2012 Shariffah_Gamar_SYED_AR@muis.gov.sg
Nur Zarifah Bachtiar Evendi 2011 Nur_Zarifah_BACHTIAR_EVENDI@muis.gov.sg
Amend Application
Abdul Rahman Lum 2001 Abdul_Rahman_LUM@muis.gov.sg
Certificate Issuance
Nur Azrina Ahmad 2025 Nur_Azrina_AHMAD@muis.gov.sg
Nur Sila Abu Samah 2026 Nur_Sila_ABU_SAMAH@muis.gov.sg
Nurul Assyakirin Johar 2027 Nurul_Assyakirin_JOHAR@muis.gov.sg
Nur Farhanah Jaafar 2027 Nur_Farhanah_JAAFAR@muis.gov.sg
 Finance (Halal) Related
 Halal_AO@muis.gov.sg
Public Feedback
Muhd Lutfi Salim 2021 Muhd_Lutfi_SALIM@muis.gov.sg
Nurshilah Abdul Wahid 2021 Nurshilah_ABDUL_WAHID@muis.gov.sg
Muhd AlMuhsan 2022 Muhd_Al_Muhsan_SIDEK@muis.gov.sg
Foreign Halal Certifying Bodies
Mohd Sarizal Sapuan 2023 Mohd_Sarizal_SAPUAN@muis.gov.sg
Sharifuddin Mohamed Ali 2024 Sharifuddin_MOHAMED_ALI@muis.gov.sg
Ad-hoc Services
Norazizah Mahshuri 2018 Norazizah_MASHURI@muis.gov.sg
Muis LicenceOne-GoBusiness
Ismail Abdul Fitrey 2020 Ismail_ABDUL_FITREY@muis.gov.sg
Razali Shariff 2028 Razali_MOHD_SHARIFF@muis.gov.sg