A Singapore Government Agency Website

About

Singapore Halal Certification

Majlis Ugama Islam Singapura (Muis), also known as the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore, is the Islamic authority in-charge of Muslim affairs in Singapore. Muis advises the President of Singapore on all matters relating to Islam in Singapore. Among other things, Muis provides Halal Certification services and regulates Singapore Halal industry. 

Under the Administration of Muslim Law Act (AMLA), Muis is vested with the sole legal powers to issue Halal certificates in Singapore. 

Section 88A(1), AMLA: The Majlis may issue Halal certificates in relation to any product, service, or activity and regulate the holders of such certificates to ensure that the requirements of Muslim law are complied with in the production, processing, marketing or display of that product, the provision of that service or the carrying out of that activity

Section 88A(5), AMLA: “Any person who, without the approval of the Majlis:
• issues a Halal certificate in relation to any product, service or activity; or
• uses any specified Halal certification mark or any colourable imitation thereof, shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $10,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or both

Established in 1978, Muis Halal Certification is voluntary. The move to set up its Halal Certification Strategic Unit was driven by the increasing demand for Singapore products being Halal-certified and for eating establishments.

In 2016, Muis certified more than 4,000 premises and has played an important role as the custodian of Halal food assurance for Singapore's 15% Muslim population. Furthermore, the burgeoning Halal food industry with the availability of many Halal-certified eating establishments has helped foster social interaction between individuals from diverse racial, cultural and religious backgrounds.


A flow chart summarizing Muis Halal Certification Process is shown below and may also be found here (PDF, 82KB).

Singapore Halal Certification Process

 

1. Enquiries

Application procedures Halal Requirements

2. e-Application

 

Submission of new Halal Application via LicenceOne

3. Processing

 

Verification of documents, Audits / Inspections

4. Certification

 

Issuance of Halal Certificate (Valid 1 or 2 years)

5. Post Certification

 

Unannounced inspections, Update of information via LicenceOne

6. Renewal

 

Submission 3 months before expiry date

CONTACT INFO

Address 23 Mayo St (208323) [Note: Our office will be closed from 07/04 until further notice]
Contacting Hours
Mondays to Thursdays
9:00 am to 1:00 pm
2:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Fridays:
9:00 am to 12:30 pm
2:30 pm to 5:00 pm
Mainline 6812 6060
Email For general enquiries: info@muis.gov.sg.
For LicenceOne/GoBusiness matters: mes_3.0@muis.gov.sg

Alternatively, you can contact the officers directly at the following contact number/email: 

Name Contact Number Email Address
Certification Enquiries
Nurul Hidayah Abubakar 6812 6066 Nurul_Hidayah_ABUBAKAR@muis.gov.sg
Nur Aini Hamid 6812 6065 Nur_Aini_HAMID@muis.gov.sg
Nur Sharalyn Abdullah 8793 0703 Nur_Sharalyn_ABDULLAH@muis.gov.sg
Siti Nur Atiqah Abu Bakar 6812 6069
Nur_Atiqah_ABU_BAKAR@muis.gov.sg
Siti Nur Aishah Yazid 6812 6067 Siti_Nur_Aishah_MOHD_YAZID@muis.gov.sg
Halal Assurance (Audit)
Haziqah Haron 9783 6326 Haziqah_HARON@muis.gov.sg
Nur Hanis Faisal 9176 2008 Nur_Hanis_FAISAL@muis.gov.sg
Farhanah Yunos 9017 2657 Farhanah_YUNOS@muis.gov.sg
Nur Khairina Khair 9248 2696 Nur_Khairina_MOHAMED_KHAIR@muis.gov.sg
Siti Nurzakiah Hashim 9729 2973 Siti_Nurzakiah_HASHIM@muis.gov.sg
Muhd Nasrul Ibrahim 9008 5433 Muhd_Nasrul_IBRAHIM@muis.gov.sg
Nur Arinah Shapandi 9112 4756 Nur_Arinah_SHAPANDI@muis.gov.sg
Musliha Muhamad 6812 6075 Musliha_MUHAMAD@muis.gov.sg
Nurenilda Mokhtar 8333 8403 Nurenilda_Faraedayu_MOKHTAR@muis.gov.sg
Amend Application
Abdul Rahman Lum 6812 6076 Abdul_Rahman_LUM@muis.gov.sg
Certificate Issuance
Nur Azrina Ahmad 6812 6072 Nur_Azrina_AHMAD@muis.gov.sg
Nur Sila Abu Samah 6812 6081 Nur_Sila_ABU_SAMAH_from.TP@muis.gov.sg
Public Feedback
Muhd Lutfi Salim 6812 6082 Muhd_Lutfi_SALIM@muis.gov.sg
Foreign Halal Certifying Bodies
Mohd Sarizal Sapuan 6812 6074 Mohd_Sarizal_SAPUAN@muis.gov.sg
Ad-Hoc Services
Norazizah Mahshuri 6812 6073 Norazizah_MASHURI@muis.gov.sg
Muhd Al Muhsan 6812 6083
Muhd_Al_Muhsan_SIDEK@muis.gov.sg
Muis LicenceOne-GoBusiness
Ismail Abdul Fitrey 6812 6068 Ismail_ABDUL_FITREY@muis.gov.sg
Razali Shariff 6812 6077
Razali_MOHD_SHARIFF@muis.gov.sg